z00lie

Living Life With Fibromyalgia

Fibromyalgia Symptoms

It’s so easy to be distraught when suffering from Fibromyalgia, but take heart, you are NOT a hypochondriac, you are NOT an excessive bitcher, and you are NOT lazy. These symptoms are REAL and Fibro is a real burden to bear but with treatment, you can live a mostly normal life (mine wasn’t really all that normal BEFORE Fibro :D).

These are the basic symptoms that I gathered from the internet, other Fibro sufferers and from personal experience. We will address each of these in the following days, weeks, months, and I will share every remedy that I learn about with you. Just remember fellow Fibromyalgia sufferers, you are not alone.

The most common symptoms of Fibromyalgia are as follows:

  • Pain (the best way I can describe it is that upon waking I feel like I’ve been hit by a truck, a big truck)
  • Stiffness (especially in the mornings, and not the good kind of stiffness;)
  • Fatigue (and NO, you are not lazy, this fatigue is real, YOU don’t have to feel guilty for needing rest)
  • Insomnia or Sleep Problems (tossing and turning, sleeping two hours and waking up wide awake)
  • Brain Fog (this is one of the worst because most of us with Fibro have previously handled busy careers successfully…I ask my doctor all the time if I’m getting Alzheimers…he assures me I’m too young!)
  • Headaches/Migraines (usually daily headaches, but keep in mind, sleep problems worsen these)
  • Balance Problems
  • Digestive Disorders (IBS, acid reflux, constipation, nausea)
  • Muscles knots, cramping, weakness (again, very frustrating to those of us who were into exercising before Fibro…now my arms hurt when I fold clothes!)
  • Itchy Skin
  • Pain caused by blood pressure testing (See, you’re not just a sissy!)
  • Depression
  • Numbness and Tingling in hands, arms, legs and feet
  • Heart Palpitations
  • Anxiety 
  • Abnormal Urination (frequency, pain, dribbles when laughing or sneezing …for God’s sake don’t watch Michael McIntire ! :D)
  • Tender Points (hurts to even be touched)
4 Comments»

[…] Fibromyalgia Symptoms (z00lie.wordpress.com) FacebookTwitterDiggEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Comments (0) Trackbacks (0) Leave a comment Trackback […]

  z00lie wrote @

For me Cymbalta seems to work best, although it is an anti-depressant, it helps with the widespread pain. I take ultram for the pain too, though it doesn’t really kill the pain, just seems to take the edge off. I also take a low dose of xanax when I feel anxiety. Also, Headache Relief Excedrin for in between the ultram, and when headaches are the issue. I have to take pepcid ac every day to keep the acid reflux at bay. If I stretch every day before I get out of bed, starting with pushing the small of my back into the mattress, then releasing, I seem to feel much, much better. I think the key is to take everything slow and try not to overdo it. Most of us Fibro sufferers were very active before and it is very hard not to think we can do what we want, when we want. Hot baths and a microwave hot rice-filled, lavender scented wrap are wonderful for really bad days.

[…] Fibromyalgia Symptoms […]

  Nitty Gritty Fibro Part 1 « Ever So Gently wrote @

[…] Fibromyalgia Symptoms (z00lie.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

